Promotional Trailer

Spellbound.  The culmination of the New Zealand Spelling Bee competition for 2016 sees thirty six of the country’s best Year 9 & 10 spellers come together to fight for their chance to be champion. Over three episodes finalists and characters will emerge before just one is crowned champion; all by spelling some horrendously tricky words!

Hosted by Toni Street.

Supported by the Wright Family Foundation with prizes supplied by Kiwi Bank and the New Zealand Spelling Bee.


Production Details


Year of screening 2016

Hosts Toni Street, Ronnie Taulafo

Pronouncer Owen Scott

Judges Janet Lucas QSM, Rachel D’Cruz, Dr. Dianne Bardsley

Production personnel 

Producer Dominic Smith

Executive Producer Gavin Wood

Head of Development & Production Rachel Antony

Network Executive Tony Manson

Line Producer Kylie Croft

Associate Producer Angela Cudd

Production Managers Katherine Manaton, Jani Alexander

Production Assistants Liam Martin, Simon Woodard

Unit Leah McVeagh

Producer / Director Backstage & Profile Films Erina Ellis

Studio Director Rob McLaughlin

Director’s Assistant Lacey Churcher

OSB Outside Broadcasting

Floor Manager Sarah Thomas

Assistant Floor Manager Tracy Oliver

Camera Studio Yves Simard, Warwick Wrigley, Gavin Stroud, Georgina Ford, Sean Rundle, Matt Hunt, Patrice Allen, Tony Wilson

Camera back stories Mike Nelson, Don Rutherford

JIB Grip Sam Kennedy, Joe Rixon

Sound Op Studio Andy Tait

Sound Assistants Richard Sweeting, Jonathan Matthews

Sound back stories Tony Spear, Wendy Adams

Vision Switcher Sue Cross

CCU Operators Phil Boyle, Ariki Spooner

Autocue Sarah Wilson

Post Technical Manager James Gardner

EVS Operator Tyler Nehring

Wardrobe Stylists Clifton Piper, Jules Armishaw

Wardrobe Assist Melissa Patterson

Make-Up / Hair Lisa Matson, Kath Gould, Greer Melrose

Make-Up Assists Dana Wilton, Chay Roberts

Production Designer Greg Skinner - Rollercoaster

Lighting Director Jason Steel - Oceania

Audio Supervisor Derek Metivier

Graphic Design Simon Wade - 6Twenty

Music Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper, Audio Network

Post Production Department of Post

Editors Justin Redding, Jeremy Star

Production Accountant Hina Dalwadi

Financial Controller Glenda Paterson

Funded by TVNZ and the Wright Family Foundation, with prizes supplied by Kiwi Bank and the New Zealand Spelling Bee.